New community champions announced!

A record number of Indigenous runners of all ages represented their communities at the 4th annual Deadly Fun Run Championships on Saturday 18 July at Yulara in Central Australia.

Conditions were cold, but still, and with Australia’s iconic Uluru in the distance, it was a picture of inspiration for more than 100 Indigenous runners who participated from Indigenous communities across the nation.

The Deadly Fun Run Series is an initiative of the IMP, driven by our Graduates, to encourage active and healthy lifestyles in Aboriginal and Torres Strait communities.

The DFR Series includes regular 3km and 5km run/walk for people of all ages and abilities.  Each year, four representatives from each community are chosen based on consistency, participation and commitment, to represent at the annual Deadly Fun Run Championships at Yulara, Ayers Rock.

This year was another incredible display of participation, with the juniors taking on a 3km course and the seniors a 5km course. Champions defended their titles and one community’s first time participation saw them take home the title as overall community champions!

The full list of results include:


1st: Defending champion, Skyeisha Rigney, representing Murraylands – 13:41

2nd: Jada Hart, representing Mossman – 19:01

3rd: Asia Diamond, representing Mossman – 20:53


1st: Dane Charters, representing Dubbo – 12:09

2nd: Jayden David, representing Mossman – 12:16

3rd: Jayden Hyde, representing Dubbo – 12:17


1st: Ginibi Robinson, representing Queanbeyan – 28:55

2nd: Jacinta Gurruwiwi, (member of the 2015 IMP squad) representing Galiwinku – 31:23

3rd: Evelyna Dhamarrandji (2013 IMP Graduate and mentor of the Galiwinku group), representing Galiwinku – 31:49


1st: Defending champion, Chris Guyula (member of the 2015 IMP squad), representing Gapuwiyak – 21:47

2nd: Nathan Riley (2014 IMP Graduate, and mentor of the Dubbo group), representing Dubbo – 21:49

3rd: Luke McKenzie (2013 IMP Graduate, and mentor of the Murraylands group), representing Murraylands – 22:21


1st: Dubbo

2nd: Murraylands

3rd: Gapuwiyak

We would like to thank all the volunteers and supporters who made the event possible. Everyone involved made the 2015 Deadly Fun Run Championships a very memorable event and we look forward to welcoming even more Indigenous Australian runners in 2016!

Stay tuned for a full wrap-up of the weekend’s activities and photographs including the historically significant Anniversary Relay Run.