Deadly Fun Run Series

An Indigenous Marathon Project initiative that introduces running and walking to remote communities in a fun, non-intimidating environment for indigenous men, women and children.

1km fun run / walk and a 3-5km run took place in a number of communities in 2011 and 2012, with the hope of expanding in 2013 and beyond. The series consists of 5 fun runs with points being awarded for participation and place. Both a male and female champion represent their community at the Deadly Fun Run Series Championships held in June each year in Uluru.

Fun run series are established, owned and run by the communities primarily by the IMP squad member. These individuals will work with IMP staff and local volunteers and support agencies using their skills attained by completing their Certificate III in Fitness to deliver a successful event.

Running and walking is not currently recognised as a sport within many indigenous communities therefore participation will be encouraged through prize incentives for age group categories and random participation.


A record number of Indigenous runners of all ages represented their communities at the 4th annual Deadly Fun Run Championships on Saturday 18 July at Yulara in Central Australia.

Conditions were cold, but still, and with Australia’s iconic Uluru in the distance, it was a picture of inspiration for more than 100 Indigenous runners who participated from Indigenous communities across the nation.

The Deadly Fun Run Series is an initiative of the IMP, driven by our Graduates, to encourage active and healthy lifestyles in Aboriginal and Torres Strait communities.

The DFR Series includes regular 3km and 5km run/walk for people of all ages and abilities.  Each year, four representatives from each community are chosen based on consistency, participation and commitment, to represent at the annual Deadly Fun Run Championships at Yulara, Ayers Rock.

This year was another incredible display of participation, with the juniors taking on a 3km course and the seniors a 5km course. Champions defended their titles and one community’s first time participation saw them take home the title as overall community champions!

The full list of results include:


1st: Defending champion, Skyeisha Rigney, representing Murraylands – 13:41

2nd: Jada Hart, representing Mossman – 19:01

3rd: Asia Diamond, representing Mossman – 20:53


1st: Dane Charters, representing Dubbo – 12:09

2nd: Jayden David, representing Mossman – 12:16

3rd: Jayden Hyde, representing Dubbo – 12:17


1st: Ginibi Robinson, representing Queanbeyan – 28:55

2nd: Jacinta Gurruwiwi, (member of the 2015 IMP squad) representing Galiwinku – 31:23

3rd: Evelyna Dhamarrandji (2013 IMP Graduate and mentor of the Galiwinku group), representing Galiwinku – 31:49


1st: Defending champion, Chris Guyula (member of the 2015 IMP squad), representing Gapuwiyak – 21:47

2nd: Nathan Riley (2014 IMP Graduate, and mentor of the Dubbo group), representing Dubbo – 21:49

3rd: Luke McKenzie (2013 IMP Graduate, and mentor of the Murraylands group), representing Murraylands – 22:21


1st: Dubbo

2nd: Murraylands

3rd: Gapuwiyak

We would like to thank all the volunteers and supporters who made the event possible. Everyone involved made the 2015 Deadly Fun Run Championships a very memorable event and we look forward to welcoming even more Indigenous Australian runners in 2016!

Click here to watch a short video filmed by Australian Olympic Committee Education Manager, Ashley Knight, who attended the Championships along with a number of AOC members.

A gallery of images is also available.

2014 Deadly champions announced

A record number of runners ensured it was fierce competition for the 2014 Deadly Fun Run Championships in Uluru on Sunday 12 July.

Runners were inspired to excel following support from Australia’s two highest offices, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) Governor-General of the Commonwealth Of Australia, and Prime Minister The Hon Tony Abbott.

More than 60 people including runners and volunteers came together to make the event highly successful.

Gapuwiyak was crowned the community champions for 2014!

Click here for all individual results and here for community results.

We would like to thank everyone who participated, volunteered and supported to make this such a special event and we look forward to even more runners participating in 2015!


2014 Deadly Fun Run Championships

The annual Deadly Fun Run Championships are being held on Saturday 12 July at Australia’s most recognised Indigenous icon, Uluru.

More than 60 runners will be representing their community vying for the ultimate prize of being crowned the Deadly Fun Run Champions.

Murraylands will be attempting to defend their 2013 title, but with a strong contingency from the Northern Territory, will they be able to hold on?

Click here to find out more information or here to view the list of runners.